Three Moments of An Explosion

Three Moments of An Explosion

Stories

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
4
1
Rate this:
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST  AND THE GUARDIAN * The fiction of multiple award-winning author China Miéville is powered by intelligence and imagination. Like George Saunders, Karen Russell, and David Mitchell, he pulls from a variety of genres with equal facility, employing the fantastic not to escape from reality but instead to interrogate it in provocative, unexpected ways.
 
London awakes one morning to find itself besieged by a sky full of floating icebergs. Destroyed oil rigs, mysteriously reborn, clamber from the sea and onto the land, driven by an obscure but violent purpose. An anatomy student cuts open a cadaver to discover impossibly intricate designs carved into a corpse's bones--designs clearly present from birth, bearing mute testimony to . . . what?
 
Of such concepts and unforgettable images are made the twenty-eight stories in this collection--many published here for the first time. By turns speculative, satirical, and heart-wrenching, fresh in form and language, and featuring a cast of damaged yet hopeful seekers who come face-to-face with the deep weirdness of the world--and at times the deeper weirdness of themselves-- Three Moments of an Explosion is a fitting showcase for one of literature's most original voices.

Praise for Three Moments of an Explosion
 
"Even when he is orbiting somewhere in a galaxy too far away for normal human comprehension, the genre-subverting English novelist China Miéville is dazzling. His latest collection of short stories, Three Moments of an Explosion, crowds virtuosity into every sentence. . . . There are things to admire in every story, even the ones you can't quite grasp. The book left me feeling unsettled, uneasy, nervous, and I think that is Mr. Miéville's point. He wants to draw attention to the scratching under the floorboards, the panic in our heads, the rebellion of nature and inanimate objects. As he says, 'These days there are so many odd and troubling noises in the city.'" --Sarah Lyall, The New York Times
 
"You can't talk about Miéville without using the word 'brilliant.' . . . His wit dazzles, his humour is lively, and the pure vitality of his imagination is astonishing. . . . My favourite of all these tales is 'The Rules,' two and a half pages long. Read it. You won't regret it, or forget it."-- Ursula K. Le Guin, The Guardian (U.K.)
 
" Three Moments of an Explosion is a book filled with fabulous oddities." -- Entertainment Weekly

"Horror, noir, fantasy, politics, and poetry swirl into combinations as satisfying intellectually as they are emotionally. . . . Bradbury meets Borges, with Lovecraft gibbering tumultuously just out of hearing." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
"Miéville moves effortlessly among realism, fantasy, and surrealism in this dark, sometimes horrific short story collection. . . . His characters, whether ordinary witnesses to extraordinary events or lunatics operating out of inexplicable compulsions, are invariably well drawn and compelling. Above all, what the stories have in common is a sense that the world is not just strange, but stranger than we can ever really comprehend." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Publisher: New York : Del Rey, ©2015.
ISBN: 9781101884720
Characteristics: xii, 382 pages ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Feb 16, 2016

Best known for his genre-bending Bas-Lag novels, author China Miéville presents a collection of 28 stories, each bringing to life a strange world wherein even stranger things happen. From fantastical retellings of classic fairy tales to surreal explorations of the hidden terrors of everyday occurrences, this thought-provoking and stylistically complex book may appeal to fans of Kelly Link or Catherynne M. Valente.

PimaLib_SherrieB Jan 15, 2016

The stories in this collection are fantastical, metaphorical, untidy, and sometimes open-ended. They stretched my imagination. I love this book.

j
JLMason
Dec 21, 2015

The author is an excellent writer with a wide-ranging imagination. He employs many different writing styles from screenplay to gothic horror to classic SciFi. The quality of the stories was uneven, with the endings of some leaving a question of "so what?" I would still recommend the book as more than half of the stories are compelling and unsettling; a few even stay with you for a few days as you mull them over. I will definitely seek out other books by this author.

j
jenniferrabbit
Sep 02, 2015

Strange and wonderful short stories that are beautifully written but make very little sense. When I read Mieville's novels it always takes me several chapters to really see the world he's invented, and the motives of his characters... in these short stories I don't have that opportunity. If you love to read and wonder, this is the book for you. If you like things to sort themselves out tidily by the end of the book, like I do, hmmm, maybe not so much.

Notices

Add Notices

m
maroon_chicken
Aug 11, 2016

Other: Some stories are quite dark

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top