Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
120
6
2
"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, New York : Ballantine Books, ©2017.
ISBN: 9780425284704
9780425284681
Characteristics: 342 pages ;,25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
ScorchingSun
Mar 24, 2021

A heart-breaking look at ageism from the children's end of the spectrum.
A painful but uplifting tale of heroism clouded by time and secrecy.

1
123chenoa
Mar 20, 2021

This story is written in present tense which is my least favorite style, therefore I did not rate it as highly as I would have if it were written in past tense.

n
njkstl
Mar 20, 2021

Audrey recommendation.

p
pansey
Feb 22, 2021

It was a bit too much for me,
very good read,but just too sad for me.

e
Einer2
Feb 16, 2021

Heart wrenching and beautiful.

a
AlishaGo
Feb 01, 2021

This was absolutely heart wrenching, but I couldn't put it down. The mystery in investigating lost family history was absolutely captivating, for it touched on the deepest soul questions about true roots and belonging. This book portrayed senseless crimes against children and families at the hands of the Tennessee Children's Home Society in disturbing detail, but interwoven in the heartbreak were stories of those children grown, having found immeasurable capacity for resilience and motivation to make the best of new lives.

b
Becca1949
Feb 01, 2021

Novel based upon a true story in Memphis. Unbelievable that this went on for nearly 27 years. Higher ups turned their heads! Like happening today! Now, you must read the true accounts of those children who were victims of Georgia Tann in BEFORE AND AFTER. Excellent and educational.

0
0424pat
Jan 22, 2021

Family loses one another and searches for their former family. Good read.

m
mimsipod
Jan 03, 2021

What 512cadcock said.

5
512cadcock
Dec 31, 2020

Loved how the narration for this book switched from first person (Princess of the Arcadia shanty boat in the 1930s) to their grandchildren’s generation uncovering a long lost story. Had me turning pages and too intrigued to put it down. A beautiful coming of age story of hard times and love and triumph in the face of hardship. This was a true 5 star book for me and I look forward to reading other books from this author in the future.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
x
XueyingMou
Jun 17, 2019

"No matter how much we may love the melody of a bygone day or imagine the song of a future one, we must dance within the music of today, or we will always be out of step, stumbling around in something that doesn't suit the moment."

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“We plan our days, but we don’t control them.” - p. 95

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“The argument ends where all arguments do—on the altar of compromise.” - p. 255

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“I learned that you need not be born into a family to be loved by one.” - p. 314

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“A woman’s past need not predict her future. She can dance to new music if she
chooses. Her own music. - p. 317

ArapahoeMaryA Jun 13, 2017

I clench my teeth so hard the pain travels all the way to the top of my head. I'm glad for it - it's just a little ache and I know where it comes from. I can stop it anytime I want. The one in my heart is way bigger. I can't fix it no matter how hard I try. It scares me so much that I can't even breathe.

"…the love of sisters needs no words. It does not depend on memories, or mementos or proof. It runs as deep as a heartbeat; it is as ever present as a pulse.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
m
Mya614
Jan 20, 2018

Mya614 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
BRUCE PILCHER
Sep 26, 2017

BRUCE PILCHER thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top