The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
127
6
5
 …

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062799555
9780062678416
Characteristics: 427 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
e
EljayJohnson
Jul 06, 2019

Well, that was a treat! A superior, fast-paced popcorn thriller featuring the queen of unreliable narrators and ample twists and turns, some I saw coming, some that knocked me upside the head. Literally couldn't put it down and the last page and I saw 1 AM together last night. Anna Fox is an agoraphobic, alcoholic psychologist, separated from husband and daughter, and holed up in her NYC brownstone spying on her neighbors. The question is: did she really see what she thinks she saw happening to who she thinks it happened to? Finn was especially skilled at making his reader feel as foggy and fuzzy as Anna after her typical two bottles of Merlot. I'll be looking for more from this author.

m
Mrs157
Jun 28, 2019

I found myself to be very frustrated with the main character. I did not find the book to be suspenseful and it did not keep me engaged whatsoever.

m
mynovelesquelife
Jun 17, 2019

Rating: 2 STARS
2018; William Morrow/HarperCollins Canada

Can you guess what this book is about? From the title and cover, I guessed this was a Rear Window retelling. You can't beat the original, but it's always fun to see what someone else's take on it is. In this book we have a child psychologist who is now an agoraphobic, so her view of the world is through her window or computer. She sees something she shouldn't have, and no one believes happened. Yada yada yada...the twist wasn't so much of a twist as there were clues (a la The Sixth Sense - ie pay close enough attention to details). The ending was not bad, but I think because of the hype I was hoping for a little more. I would definitely read another one by Finn.

***I received an eARC from EDELWEISS***

s
SUSUBradley
Jun 15, 2019

Again another book I couldn't put down. What a story.

d
Dexter_Morgan
Jun 08, 2019

Lots of twists and turns. Very enjoyable.

r
rnsimcoe
May 24, 2019

I have tried on two separate occasions to read this book, and I can never get past the first page. The story is too simple and cliche for me.

v
VLSGarnerJ
May 17, 2019

6

a
astrotea
May 08, 2019

It started to get a bit slow for my liking towards the middle, although chapters were very short and easy to read. I thought they did a good job unveiling key plot points as it went on and I enjoyed the ending.

e
empbee
Apr 29, 2019

Fast and tense read. You guess at each turn of events who is who and what is fantasy and reality. A good psychological thriller.

j
JANMAYS
Apr 20, 2019

Did for book club, some liked, some did not. I enjoyed it.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
m
Mrs157
Jun 28, 2019

Mrs157 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

j
jessebraydon
Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top