The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
96
6
4
 …

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062799555
9780062678416
Characteristics: 427 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
dukeandaustin
Jan 21, 2019

Excellent novel, highly recommend could not put it down.

b
belle489
Jan 20, 2019

This was such a great read! When I first picked it up and saw how thick it was I thought that it would take me weeks to get through it. I like how the author made the chapters short so that it was easy to keep focus. This book kept me wanting to flip the pages. It was truly a thriller with the plot twist at the end. I thought that, that character may be involved somehow but didn't know just HOW involved they'd be. It was quite shocking.

This had a lot of similarities to The Girl on the Train. Main character- drinking problem, lonely, easily dismissed because they're "troubled" etc. witnesses something but can't piece it together until the end.

l
lainie1945
Jan 19, 2019

I took me(age 73 and female) a little while to get the characters straight and not having chance to read that much on it at the start. When I did get to reading it, my goodness I couldn't put it down. It is truly a thriller!! Can't wait to see the movie.

g
GrandCru
Jan 08, 2019

very good. i did decide to read it before seeing the movie. keeps one guessing almost to the end.

DCLadults Jan 02, 2019

A New & Noteworthy Best of 2018 pick. It isn't paranoia if it's really happening. This was one of the most talked about debuts of 2018. Read it before the movie comes out!

a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

This is a very good thriller and I'm not surprised that it's will be made into a movie. It gave me that old school Lifetime movie vibe.

b
brangwinn
Dec 29, 2018

Few books keep me up reading past my bedtime. This is one of those books. When a child psychologist suffering from agoraphobia, thinks she witnesses a murder in a neighboring home, she sets off a chain of events which seem to make her look crazy, but keep reading, as facts tilt and twirl in this thriller.

j
JLMason
Dec 28, 2018

The unreliable narrator is clearly unreliable from the start, but how unreliable? Multiple twists kept me guessing until the end. Best thriller I’ve read since Gone Girl.

a
Amy_CM
Dec 24, 2018

Not bad. This book reminded me a great deal of The Girl On The Train - with a main character who is an emotionally unstable alcoholic surrounding herself with less than desirable and sometimes shady secondary characters. There were a few good surprises in the book, but the naivety of the main character at the end is not quite believable. Still, this one is a good weekend or vacation read.

Hillsboro_StephanieC Dec 19, 2018

This is the follow-up to GIRL ON THE TRAIN you have been waiting for.

For me, the character of Rachel is what made GOTT such a compelling read: her desperation, her dogged determination, her inability to leave things well enough alone. Meet Dr Anna Fox, who is the same kind of wonderfully unreliable narrator. The reader -- and Anna -- is not sure who, or what, she can trust, and, combined with a pitch-perfect pace and a story so quietly and tensely plotted, WOMAN is the best kind of psychological thriller.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
abbi_g
Jan 01, 2019

I must have said this out loud. 'What doesn't matter?' he asks. You, I think. I don't say it. Instead I hang up.

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
j
jessebraydon
Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top