The Secret Life of Bees

The Secret Life of Bees

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
Rate this:
64
6
3
 …
Sue Monk Kidd's first novel The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, and a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick   Fans of The Help will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964,  The Secret Life of Bees  will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt , and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.
When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2002.
ISBN: 9780670894604
0670894605
9780142001745
0142001740
9780143114550
9780670032372
0670032379
Characteristics: xii, 301 p. ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
suveen
Jul 13, 2020

Secret Life of Bees
The novel Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd is an amazing book. It is set in South Carolina 1964 and tells the story of Lilly Owens who is blamed for her mother’s death by her father. She runs away trying to find her mother’s past and meets amazing women who own a bee business. Lilly learns so much throughout her journey and becomes a better person. I really liked this book and would definitely recommend it to others.

w
writermala
Jun 04, 2020

This is a lovely book where the author uses bees a a metaphor for life itself. Lily lives with her father and Black housekeeper as her mother is dead - died in mysterious circumstances. It is a coming of age story set in the Civil Rights era of the sixties in the American South. Lily runs away from home and finds love with a family of black sisters. She learns that white people and colored people living together and getting along was not the aim rather everybody being colorless together was a better plan. A short sweet debut novel which will tug at your heart strings.

j
justkt54
Dec 04, 2019

This book hit a home run with me! Engaging, funny, thought-provoking and young adult appropriate. Treat yourself to the audio book version!

b
betsymarzoni
May 24, 2019

Read the book instead of watching the movie.

TSCPL_Miranda Apr 29, 2019

A wonderful book club read, set in the south in the year 1964. Themes include coming of age, awakening to civil rights, healing relationships between women, gender roles, and suicide. MC Lily is an intelligent, lonely young woman with an oppressive, angry father. Her mother died when Lily was very young, and she struggles to reconcile her conflicting feelings about the woman and the loss throughout the book. Understandably, she's a bit self-centered at the start of the story, but through her relationships with a number of black women who rally to fill the role of mother and friend in her life, and a friendship/romance with a young black man, her preconceptions are challenged and her character really grows. I've read this book twice now to discuss with a group and loved it both times. A quick, immersive read.

w
WoodneathShirlee
Jul 14, 2018

Set in 1964, this is a coming-of-age story about loss and betrayal. Lily Owens is raised by a “stand-in-mother” after her mother is killed. It’s the story of divine female power in a racist town in the south.

l
lowen3
Jan 09, 2018

I fell in love with this book. It's inspiring, beautifully written, and empowering- while keeping an intriguing but not overly complicated plot. It made me cry and laugh out loud. You know you've found a good book if it can make you both laugh and cry. ❤

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 21, 2017

A young girl who grew up in South Carolina in the early 1960s lives with her black nanny and a trio of beekeeping sisters (May, June, and August). Lily has a hard past, vaguely remembering her mother getting murdered, having an abusive father and growing up in an incredibly racist town. This book really mirrors the book 'To Kill A Mockingbird', the main characters Lily and Jean-Louise really resemble each other in terms of innocence.
- @Florence of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

The Secret Life of Bees is a great novel about learning what family really is all about. This book takes place in South Carolina in 1964. The main character is Lily. She is very brave and decides to run away from her abusive father to a nearby town with her coloured “Step In Mother” in hopes of learning more about what happened to her birth mother. The book also includes a interesting look into racism since it takes place back in 1964. The Secret Life of Bees became inspiring to me and was extremely interesting throughout. This book would be very good for a novel study or a class project for anyone that older than 10 years old. In conclusion, the Secret Life of Bees was a very good book and I truly suggest you to try it out. Rating 4.5/5.
@MapleLeaf1 of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

m
Marilyn34
Oct 23, 2017

What would you do if you could find out about your mother if she has been gone since you were a toddler? Would you try to find out or not?

Check out my review of "The Secret Life of Bees" on my blog at:
http://axarr.blogspot.com/2016/09/review-wednesday-secret-life-of-bees-by.html

f
firebird770
Jun 15, 2017

Excellent

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
l
lowen3
Jan 09, 2018

lowen3 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

a
artcat15
Apr 18, 2017

artcat15 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

s
Sarah1984
Sep 05, 2014

Sarah1984 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

t
TiaunaMass
Jun 14, 2014

TiaunaMass thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

blue_gazelle_42 Feb 20, 2013

blue_gazelle_42 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

k
krystalamanda16
Dec 24, 2012

krystalamanda16 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
l
lowen3
Jan 09, 2018

Coarse Language: Just a little... no use of the "big one"

t
TiaunaMass
Jul 10, 2014

Violence: Fighting scene

t
TiaunaMass
Jul 10, 2014

Coarse Language: the N word that's about it.

Summary

Add a Summary
a
artcat15
Apr 18, 2017

For fourteen year-old Lily Owens, living with her father T. Ray means selling peaches, and reminiscing of the tales of her long lost mother in her free time. When she finds a clue pointing to her mother's true past, her and housemaid Rosaleen adventure to Tuburon, South Carolina, and meet a group of beekeeping sisters who contain the secret to her mother's past.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top