The American Boy

The American Boy

Book - 2003
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses. A man is found dead and horribly mutilated on a building site. A heiress flirts with her inferiors. A poor schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before it destroys him and those he loves. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the new world as well as the old. The American Boy is a 21st-century novel with a 19th-century voice. It is both a multi-layered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire. And at its centre is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.
Publisher: London, Eng. : Flamingo, c2003.
ISBN: 9780007109616
000710961X
Characteristics: 485 p. ;,24 cm.
Alternative Title: An unpardonable crime

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
storywizard
Oct 24, 2016

Nice atmospheric story set in late 19th century...however I was disappointed that the American boy of the title did not figure more in the story...well worth a read, just don't expect to have much of the story set around Edgar Allen ....

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top